#### **MINUTES**

## Wednesday, November 29, 2018

# Special School Advisory Body Conference Call Meeting Florida Atlantic University Schools' School Advisory Body College of Education, Florida Atlantic University Approved January 16, 2019

I. <u>Call to Order/Sign-In/Flag Salute/Approval of Agenda</u> Mrs. Lynn Pagans, Chair Call to order made by Mrs. Lynn Pagans at 5:30 pm. Attending conference call members identified themselves and the Salute to the Flag followed.

# **Draft Agenda Approval**

Motion – A motion was made by Dr. Deborah Shepherd to approve the Draft Agenda Second – Seconded by Mr. Andrew Hunter Unanimous Approval

## II. Welcome

Mrs. Lynn Pagans, Chair

Mrs. Lynn Pagans, Chair welcomed the SAB Members.

#### Members who were present via phone conference:

Mrs. Melissa Cipyak - Elementary Parent Representative

Mrs. Darlene Hazamy - Middle Parent Representative

Mr. Andrew Hunter - At-Large Parent Representatives

Mrs. Lynn Pagans - At-Large Parent Representatives

Ms. Lyndsay Tolerton - Elementary Faculty Representative

Ms. Agnes Timar - At-Large Faculty Representative

Mrs. Eliane Mattos - Education Support Staff Representative

Dr. Stephen Locke - FAU Faculty Representative

Dr. Deborah Shepherd - Dean of the College of Education Designee

Mr. Mark Noll - Business/Community Representative

#### Members who were not present:

#### Excused:

Ms. Jessica Gamache - Secondary Faculty Representative

Dr. Michael Boyle - High School Parent Representative

Mrs. Sherry Bees - Principal/Director

#### Others present:

Dr. Joel Herbst, Superintendent

Mrs. Iris Bernstein, SAB Recording Secretary

Ms. Gracie Diaz, Director

# III. Action Items

Mrs. Lynn Pagans, Chair

### A. A+ Funds Distribution

Dr. Joel Herbst explained that, in accordance with SAB's request, the A+ ballot went back to the A+ distribution committee for consideration of the addition of the principal/director in the distribution of A+ funds. The A+ distribution committee met with Dr. Joel Herbst on November 16, 2018. A decision was made by the committee to amend the ballot to include the principal/director for the distribution of the A+ funds.

**Motion** – A motion was made by Dr. Stephen Locke to approve the ballot as amended by the A+ distribution committee.

**Second** – Seconded by Mrs. Darlene Hazamy.

Unanimous Not Approval (verbal response by each member)

# IV. Adjournment

Mrs. Lynn Pagans, Chair

Motion - Motion was made by Mrs. Eliane Mattos to adjourn the meeting at 5:37 pm

Second – Seconded by Mrs. Lyndsay Tolerton

**Unanimous Approval**