• News
    • FAU High Student, Kailyn Mooklal, Recognized as Horatio Alger Association 2023 National Scholar

FAU High Student, Kailyn Mooklal, Recognized as Horatio Alger Association 2023 National Scholar


Friday, May 26, 2023

Kailyn Mooklal, a Florida Atlantic University High School senior, was recently recognized as one of 105 2023 National Scholars by the Horatio Alger Association of Distinguished Americans.


"The Horatio Alger Association has an incredible history, and we are so proud of Kailyn for her inclusion in this distinguished group," said Dr. Joel Herbst, Superintendent of Schools at Florida Atlantic University Lab Schools. "Kailyn's focus, advocacy, and perseverance are truly impressive. I am excited to witness this new chapter she will now face with the [Horatio Alger] Association's support."

Kailyn's impressive resume boasts research experience at Dr. Detwilers Primatology Lab at FAU, a leadership position in the American Medical Students Association, and as a Barb Shmidt Fellowship member early in her high school career. As a Horatio Alger National Scholar, Mooklal was awarded a $25,000 scholarship toward a bachelor's degree program that she plans to complete at FAU and then pursue a master's program at FAU as well.

The Horatio Alger Association annually recognizes students with 105 National Scholarships at $25,000 each. The Horatio Alger National Scholarship Program is one of the major scholarship programs nationally that specifically assists high school students who have faced and overcome great obstacles in their young lives. The scholarships are funded by Horatio Alger Members who, like the Scholars, have experienced challenges but ultimately overcame them to become successful business and civic leaders. Notable Horatio Alger Members include Buzz Aldrin, Michael Bloomberg, Leonardo DiCaprio, Dwight Eisenhower, H. Wayne Huizenga, and, most recently, Keith Koenig.

Since establishing its scholarship program in 1984, the Horatio Alger Association has become one of the largest, need-based college scholarship providers in the United States and Canada.