K-12 School Counseling Program


The mission of the A.D. Henderson & FAU High School K-12 School Counseling Program is to provide a comprehensive, developmentally appropriate counseling program that addresses the academic, social-emotional and college/career development of all students. The school counselors, in partnership with other educators, parents/guardians, and the community seeks to provide support to maximize student potential, well-being and academic achievement. Furthermore, work to ensure that all students have access to the tools and knowledge necessary to contribute as productive members of society. The school counselors strive create a safe, supportive, encouraging and healthy learning environment for all students!

School Counseling Direct Services:

School counselors provide direct counseling services to students through school counseling core curriculum (classroom), and small group and individual counseling. While school counselor work from a proactive, preventive model, they also provide response services are activities designed to meet students’ immediate needs and concerns. Responsive services may include counseling in individual or small-group settings or crisis response.

School Counseling Indirect Services:

Indirect services are provided on behalf of student as a result of school counselors’ interactions with others including referrals for additional assistance, consultation and collaboration with parents, teachers, other educators and community organizations. Some indirect activities may include:

  • Consultation
  • Community outreach
  • Directing parents and students to school and community resources
  • School-wide interventions & initiatives that improve school culture and climate
  • Parent outreach & education
  • Referrals to outside agencies


K-12 School Counseling Team

Dr. Ellen Chance
9-12 Social-Emotional (SEL) School Counselor
K-12 School Counseling Team Leader & SEL Coordinator

Ms. Kathryn Mauck
9-12 Academic School Counselor
9-12 Student Support Team Leader

Mrs. Jana Nayman
6-8 School Counselor

Ms. Christine Abrue
Interim K-5 School Counselor